18 May 2014

Standard

Hello family!

I’m so happy it’s p-day. I have been so tired lately. Oh the rough life of a mission. 🙂 things are going great. We had a good experience this last week when we invited a lady (Satoko) from Eikaiwa to Questions of the Soul. Questions of the Souls is a presentation our mission president puts on to talk to all our PI’s and investigators. He always correlates it with a movie and talks about how it compares to Christ’s teachings. This last one was from the movie Gandhi. Satoko has never had any religious background and when we invited her and told her what it was about she was hesitant but decided to come anyways because when she was a teacher she had Christian students. So she figured it could help her learn about those students more. She is married and they are both out of work right now. Her husband is going to school for garden design and she is looking for a job to teach English. Well she had a great experience at the presentation. She said she learned a lot in such a short time. We gave her a BOM and she was excited to go home and tell her husband about it. We also offered to teach her about the BOM sometime before Eikaiwa she said maybe she would like that. I’m so excited. I want to teach her so bad. But with all good things comes opposition. She won’t be in town this week so not until next week are we able to possibly teach her. I just hope and pray that her desire doesn’t change.  We had Temple P-day Tuesda and as always it was amazing. I love p-days but then I hate how busy we still are on p-days. It doesn’t always feel like a day to slow down and take it easy. I’m coming to the conclusion that there is no such thing as slowing down and taking it easy. I heard there is a Costco in my area! What! I was so excited. I want to go so bad but no one else really wants to so I’m stuck! I. Just American food, like tortillas, American cheddar cheese, BANANA PEPPERS, and pickles. The pickle they have here taste weird. They are not the same. Maybe Homem Shimai will get us some stuff. Homem Shiami is a convert. She got baptized 3 years ago. Her family is from Brazil. She Loves the missionaries. When I first got here she would buy us soo much stuff but then this last month she stopped coming to church. Sister Ashby and. I were asked to go visit her from the ward. We went over to her house and we knocked on her door, no answer. We decided to go and visit another less active in the same area and come back and try Homem Shimai again. We went to the less actives house and there was no answer there either. So we were walking back to Homem Shiamai’s when she walked out of the apartment. She was suprised to see us and told us she thought we were son knocking so she was waiting for him to walk in and when he didn’t she came out to look for him. She loved that we came to see her and she came to church this week. Yay. We are
also eating lunch with her on Wednesday. She is so funny. She talks so fast so of coarse I don’t understand her but I think she thinks I do because I just smile and nod a lot. I just watch how she reacts and I will somewhat do the same. Ha ha Anyways she is great and I really felt like I did something good with her. Well that’s all for this last week. I love you all.

My mission president is awesome! I just love him. He is so blunt and not afraid to tell you how it is but you also just feel the love he has for you. He is amazing. And I love that he is so personally involved with our investigators. I live with 3 sisters in one apartment. We all sleep in the same room on futons. I actually like it. It’s fun.one of the girls is girl I knew in the MTC and I was nervous about living with her because in the MTC she was a Debbie downer. But I love her now. She just really hated the MTC. The ward is fun. I feel so lucky to be in the area I’m in because the members take such good care of us and we have a sports night every week. Not every area gets to do that. So I feel very fortunate.

Brox Shimai

Leave a Reply

