2 June 2014

Standard

Hello family! Man I’m so tired right now. I have been working my tail
off it seems like. Ok so funny story. Tuesday we went to volunteer at
the old folks place and when we got there this lady just clung to me.
She was so funny. So she is talking to me and talking really fast fast
so I do what I always do when I don’t understand, I nod my head and
say yes and smile and pretend I’m understanding what she says. Well,
one of the Elders sat closer to us and he can actually understand
Japanese, he looks at me and says, ” what did you agree to”, I said I
don’t know, I don’t understand her” and then he says, ” well she
thinks your pregnant”….. WHAT! So then joust busted up laughing and
then I was like ok I should stop agreeing to things I don’t understand
and so I refrained from nodding my head as many times or saying yes.
And then the Elder said that she asked if I was married and when I
didn’t say anything or nod she took it as a no. MAN, I just couldn’t
win. I was just making it worse. But it was soo funny. And I have come
to the conclusion that I should stop wearing that skirt and probably
should lose a little bit of weight. So I was off bread and rice this
week. If anything else I’m going to lose so much water weight just
from this humidity. It is a. KILLeR. I have never sweated so much and
it’s not even the hottest it’s going to get. I was seriously
embarrassed with the dress I wore today. It was like sweat just
seeping through and I couldn’t hide it. I really don’t know what I’m
going to do when it gets hotter. We had a couple of miracles this
week. One of my favorites was when we went to a park. On Saturday and
we ran into a lady who was German and her daughter. We started talking
to them and we had a really fun conversation and by the end they said
Thank you, we were waiting for you to approach us. Then we went to a
bakery on the way back to the train station and a lady stopped Ashby
Shimai and started asking her English questions, and asked really hard
ones. She asked why ‘near sighted’ as in eye sight, is with an ED at
the end. Doesn’t it make it past tense? Any ways we didn’t really know
the answer so we told her we would like to meet again and we will
research it and let her know the answer. Does any one know? Any ways
we exchange numbers and she said thank you I will be waiting for your
call. Two people said they were waiting for us. I felt like that was a
sign from heaven that we were doing what we were suppose to. Well
that’s all I have for this week. I hope you get a laugh out of it. 🙂
Man the challenges of not being able to speak the language. 🙂 it’s
been way fun.
Love you all!
Brox Shimai

Leave a Reply

